A DUI charge in Wyoming has severe repercussions, but if aggravating circumstances exist at the time of your arrest, the penalties can be especially severe. Do not try to handle a DUI charge on your own. Without proper representation, what appears to be a minor misdemeanor can quickly escalate into jail time and even felony charges.
A standard DUI is defined as drinking with a BAC of.08 percent or higher. This is referred to as “per se” DUI because the law presumes that someone with that BAC is too impaired to drive safely. A BAC of.05 percent to.08 percent is not considered impaired, but this does not mean that someone with this BAC will not be charged and arrested with DUI. A person with a BAC of.04 or less is generally assumed not to be impaired.
A first DUI conviction in Wyoming is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and a $750 fine. In addition, the judge will suspend your driver’s license for at least 90 days. You may be required to install an ignition interlock in your car to get it back. Finally, you may be required to participate in alcohol education, assessment, and treatment.
What Happens To First Time DUI Offenders in Wyoming?
You are considered a DUI offender in Wyoming if your blood alcohol content or BAC is over .08 percent or more.
In Wyoming, it usually takes five years for a judge or administrator to review one case. The look back period is also five years. Therefore if you claim to be a first time offender at the time of your case but is proven to be otherwise within the reviewing period of five years, know that you will be put into more trouble.
Probation Before Sentencing
A program called the Probation Before Sentencing is one of Wyoming’s time diversion programs. First time offenders in the state are not instantly convicted. Rather they are simply put on probation for a period of six months, during which they must actively participate in an alcohol education or treatment program depending on their assessment. Once a person is successful in completing this six month period, he or she is instantly removed from the probation and his or her record is then cleared. However, this program is only designed for first time offenders and those who will do it the second time can no longer make use of it.
Monetary Fines – $200 to $750 with no mandatory minimums.
Community Service – Community service can be done depending on the court’s discretion and conditions.
License Suspension – The state of Wyoming has two types of suspension namely: pre-conviction administrative and post-conviction court-ordered. Both of which have a mandatory minimum. For a first offender, the suspension period is within ninety days.
Hardship License – There are some conditions and instances wherein a hardship license may be granted to a DUI offender.
Wyoming Aggravated DUI
A person can be charged with a Aggravated DUI in Wyoming if the driver had a BAC of.15 percent or higher, injured someone in a car accident, or had a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle when they were arrested. Even for a first offense, the penalties become more severe.
A DUI is also deemed aggravated in Wyoming if it causes serious bodily harm or death to another person. When serious injury or death occurs, the driver will almost certainly face felony charges. A high BAC may also result in charges of aggravated DUI.
If you have been charged with aggravated DUI, it is critical that you contact an experienced Wyoming DUI defense attorney as soon as possible. Having this type of conviction on your record can seriously jeopardize your ability to obtain employment, housing, and loans for years to come. It may even have an impact on your child custody arrangement.
DUI Assessment / Treatment
After one is convicted for DUI, alcohol assessment is then required once their sentence has already been suspended. This assessment may be a part of an alcohol program that is required by the licensing agency in order for you to obtain your hardship license.
The results of such an assessment is taken by the court pretty seriously. Assessments are usually conducted by private groups that have been certified by the state. The cost for such a program usually ranges between $60-$150 and the offender usually pays it.
Under 21 DUI in Wyoming
If your blood alcohol content is .02 percent or above and you are under 21 years old, you will have your license suspended and you might also be fined with as much as $750. For first timers, suspension will last for about ninety days.
Get DUI Help in Wyoming
Remember that you must take your drunk driving charge in the State of Wyoming as seriously as you possibly can.
Know that once you are convicted with a DUI here it will usually have very serious consequences on your part. Your criminal record will most likely affect your employment, making it difficult for you to apply for jobs, and your future and your personal freedom will also be adversely affected.
Second, you can opt to hire the services of an experienced Wyoming DUI Lawyer or DUI attorney who knows just what to do in order to help you out with your case.
Hire a Wyoming DUI Attorney
It can be very difficult and challenging to try and understand the Wyoming DUI laws and courtroom proceedings that is why it is best to hired a qualified Wyoming DUI attorney or lawyer who can basically help you out every step of the way. Make sure that the one you will hire have a good background and understanding of the DUI laws that apply to the city of Wyoming and that the lawyer you will choose practices mainly on drunk driving defense. Doing this can certainly make a difference to the outcome of your drunk driving case.
You will be provided with an initial interview and your situation will then be assessed. No need for you to pay for anything first and the conversation that you will have will also be confidential. You can locate a Wyoming DUI lawyer with great knowledge on the DUI laws that apply to this state. However, know that it is best for you to act on it now because otherwise you might be faced with more critical results to your case.