Vermont Drunk Driving Laws
If your blood alcohol content registers at .08 percent or higher, you are tagged as a driving under the influence in the state of Vermont.
Drunk driving in Vermont includes driving under the influence (DUI), driving while impaired (DWI), driving under the influence of drugs (DUID), and operating under the influence (OUI).
It is illegal to drive, attempt to drive, or be in actual physical control of any vehicle on a highway while under the influence of intoxicating liquor (DUI), when ones blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 or higher (DWI), or when you are under the combined influence of alcohol and/or another drug to the extent that you are incapable of driving safely (DUID). In Vermont, individuals can be charged with driving under the influence of drugs, even legal prescription drugs, if these drugs impair your ability to drive safely. Snowmobiling and boating under the influence are also illegal in Vermont.
Vermont DUI Penalties
Jail – There are no mandatory minimums for DUI cases.
Fines – 1st offense = An amount of not more than $750 will be charged against you.
Other Assessments / Surcharges – You will be charged with $60 for surcharges to reinstate funds to the Health Department’s Laboratory Services Special Fund. A $50 surcharge will also be used to fund the public defenders’ special fund and lastly, a $50 surcharge will be used to fund drunk driving law enforcement.
License Suspension – There are two type of license suspensions in Vermont. One is the preconviction administrative suspension and the other one is the post conviction court order with a minimum of about ninety days for the first offense. A reinstatement fee amounting for $30 to $50 for DUI assessment measures is also mandatory.
Assessment / Screening with Education – You will be required to attend an alcohol and driver education program that will cost $300 that you must pay. Depending on the result of your case, you may be charged with further treatments for your case.
Get DUI Help in Vermont
The moment you refuse to undergo a chemical test, your license will automatically be suspended. You may also be automatically convicted with DUI and must then complete an alcohol and driver education program that should be followed by an assessment before your license can be reinstated.
If you happen to not comply to these requirements, you will no longer be eligible to reinstate your license and may be required to appear in court as well for further sanctions.
Under 21 DUI Vermont
Penalties for driver’s who are driving under the influence will be charged depending on parallel sanctions.
Are you Really a First Time DWI Offender?
If you are not sure whether or not you are a first offender, you will be required to take some tests. A judge will review your case and sanctions that will be put against you will then be determined.
Insurance – Also, your insurance rates will increase too and there may be a chance for your insurance provider to drop you because you are now a liability. The insurance rates of your family members as well as your employers would also increase considerably.
More Serious Charges – There are some cases wherein you may also be convicted with felony DUI that may most likely result to greater penalties in your end once you are involved in a DUI offense case.
Hire an Experienced Vermont DUI Attorney
For those of you who have been charged with a drinking under the influence or DUI offense in Vermont, you have two options of how you can do and deal with the situation:
One is to simply take your case into serious consideration. The minute your are convicted with DUI, you would be faced with great troubles on your part. You will find it truly difficult to seek any job or company that you may want to be a part of. You would also be restricted of your personal freedom and may not be able to do all the things that you want to do as freely as you possibly can. Other than this, your future as a whole might also be greatly affected.
You can also hire the services of a DUI attorney or lawyer in Vermont that you think you can entrust your case to. This lawyer or attorney of your choice should have a great experience in the court of law because then you wouldn’t have to be too worried or concerned about your case. When your hire someone who has a lot of background on DUI laws and criminal offenses, you can have the peace of mind that you case will be well taken cared of. Other than this, you would also be able to sleep soundly at night. All you just have to do at the moment if you are decided in entrusting your case to a knowledgeable DUI lawyer or attorney in Vermont is to call one and then you would be able to seek defense for your case for free through the help of the initial interview.