What Happens to First Time Offenders in South Carolina?
In the state of South Carolina, any person is not allowed by law to drive under the influence especially when the alcohol content level in the blood gets higher and higher. This is because you are prone to a lot of problems and would have some difficulties with whatever it is that you will end up impairing. A person is said to be drinking under the influence once his or her blood alcohol content or BAC is .08 percent or higher.
If your blood alcohol content or BAC is at least 0.05 percent but is somehow less than 0.08 percent, you may still be inferred as someone who is driving under the influence of alcohol.
Penalties for a DUI in South Carolina
Here are some the charges you can be faced with once you are convicted with a drinking under the influence or DUI offense:
Fine – You may be charged an amount of up to $400. This may reach up to about $992 inclusive of assessment fees and surcharges.
Imprisonment – You may also be admitted to jail from around forty eight hours to about thirty days. The forty eight hour imprisonment though should be serviced when you are day off from work so that it wouldn’t take a toll on your professional life.
Public Service – You may also be offered by the court a forty eight hour public service employment instead of the forty eight hour minimum imprisonment charge.
Suspension – At a first offense, your driver’s license may be suspended for about six months.
South Carolina law states that anyone driving in the state is presumed to have consented to the testing of their breath, blood, or urine for the purpose of determining the presence of alcohol and/or drugs in their system if they are suspected of committing a violation. If you refuse to submit to BAC testing, your driving privileges will be suspended for 90 days (180 days if you have a prior alcohol-related conviction or suspension within the previous ten years).
Get DUI Help in South Carolina
BAC of .08 or above – Once your blood alcohol content or BAC is proven to be .08 percent or any other figure higher, you may be faced with the same charges and penalties that you may be charged with for a DUI conviction.
Test Refusal – If in any instance you refuse to take any tests to prove and check your blood alcohol content, then you will automatically be faced with a ninety day suspension for your driving privileges This condition applies for people who are at least 21 years old and above.
Under 21 – If you are under the age of 21 and you happen to be a first time offender because your blood alcohol content is greater than 0.02 perfect, you will be faced with an automatic suspension of your license for three months. If on the other hand you refuse to subject yourself to BAC testing, then your license will be suspended for six months.
Insurance – In order for you to gain your driving privileges all over again, you must obtain an SR-22 insurance for three years (Given that the rate is substantially higher compared to your normal insurance premiums.
Temporary and Restricted Licenses
Once you are given a temporary A temporary alcohol restricted license, you will still be allowed to drive without any restrictions based on the outcome of your administrative hearing as well.
Once you are charged with a driving under the influence or DUI offense in South Carolina, you have the option to do two things.
You can primarily take your drunk driving case very seriously since a conviction in South Carolina for drinking under the influence cases will certainly offer dire consequences in your life, your ability to gain employments, your personal freedom, as well as your future in general.
Hire an Experienced South Carolina DUI Attorney
Another thing you can do is to hire an experienced drinking under the influence lawyer in or attorney in South Carolina who has a lot of knowledge when it comes to drinking under the influence or DUI laws. The moment you become successful with your choosing a lawyer, then chance are you would be able to twist the end result of your case.
You will find that you will no longer be troubled in understanding the drinking under the influence or DUI laws and courtroom proceedings at the apply in the state. Other than this, you would also be making a good decision to choose a DUI lawyer or attorney who has a lot of knowledge on the subject provided because it would certainly do you a lot of good.
The moment you are decided, you can simply make a call and arrange an initial interview with your DUI lawyer of choice. Once you’re able to do this, you don’t have to pay for anything and everything will be made confidential as well.