You will be charged with DUI or driving under the influence if you are found to have a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher while operating a motor vehicle. The statute of limitations for DUI changes for commercial vehicle operators and minors, where an commercial driver can be charged of DUI with a BAC (blood alcohol level ) of .04% and drivers under the age of 21 at .02%. There is also a possibility of conviction for suspects who have a lower BAC of .08% if found under the influence of a controlled or prohibited drug or substance, even prescription drugs.
What Happens To First Time Offenders under Nevada DUI Laws?
First time DUI is considered as a misdemeanor and tried as such in Nevada. A convicted DUI offender may face up to six months of county jail and an additional $1000 court fine among other appointed fees after sentencing. The defendant is also ordered to pay the costs of all chemical tests conducted and enroll in a driving education program with a mandatory completion of attendance to a Victim Impact Panel meeting. Additional charges are incurred by minors who have been found to reach the “extremely intoxicated” limit of .18% and are court-ordered to have alcohol evaluation.
First time DUI convicts face both criminal and administrative charges. Aside from incarceration, drug testing, fines and attendance to a Victim Impact Panel and DUI or Substance Abuse program, the defendants vehicle is also impounded with no financial reimbursement. The drivers license is revoked for 90 days with an appointed reinstatement and compensation civil penalty fee and mandatory testing before a license can be given back. The defendant is also required to purchase an SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance for three years. DUI education required for convicted DUI offenders are pretty manageable, where you can choose between a 4 two hour or 1 eight hour lesson, for “extremely intoxicated” cases there is a court mandate to subject yourself to the Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Abuse evaluation and further counseling.
Under 21 Nevada DUI
The state of Nevada follows the general ruling for BAC limits in DUI charges for drivers under the age of 21 which is .02%. There is an appointed license revocation and criminal charges plus a fee of 100$ for alcohol evaluation if convicted of drunk driving charges.
Get DUI Help: Repeat Offenses for DUI Arrests
A conviction for DUI in the state of Nevada should be taken critically. A conviction record for DUI has lasting effects of your life including service, individual records and the total of instance served as part of sentencing for a repeat DUI charge. Harsher penalties are compulsory on replicate DUI offenders, who are treated with the identical sentencing if not more stern, parameters as suspected offenders who are convicted of predominantly high BAC at the point of the felony. Citizens categorized as “extremely intoxicated” have a BAC of .15 above and need supplementary sentencing stricture, such as mandatory alcohol treatment programs and criminal charges which may face imprisonment on an extended term.
A replicate lawbreaker, who is detained for a DUI charge is subject to more criminal law consequence which may not be indicated in this transcript, for instance further jail time, obligatory community service, selected court fines and enforced substance abuse treatment. This form of sentencing is more discretionary than identified for first time offenders and are difficult to pinpoint as it can be modified by a presiding judge or court ruling, depending on the history and arresting circumstance for the person charged.
Penalties incurred for repeat DUI offenders who are involved in accidents or cause severe bodily harm and worse death, will be subject to the maximum sentencing parameters for the charge and can be charged with Felony DUI which can result to an extensive jail term and court appointed sentences.
Hire an experienced Nevada DUI Attorney
The most important aspect of your defense is hiring a law firm that has a deep understanding of the DUI laws that govern conviction, plea bargaining, appeal and sentencing for the state of Nevada. The best approach is to find a firm with an established practice that will make a significant difference in the outcome of your DUI charge.