What Happens To First Time Offenders in Nebraska?
You will be charged and convicted of a DWI in the state of Nebraska upon being rated with a .08% or higher BAC on a field sobriety test, breathalyzer or chemical test as suspected for a DUI. A lot of first time offenders in the state do not realize the penalty for a DWI charge can be quite severe compared to other courts. A conviction of a DWI tried as an adult will get a sentencing of 60 days in jail, with a mandatory seven days minimum incarceration time, something that is stretched compared to other minimum jail time allotment for DUI charges in Nebraska vs. other states. There is also a minimum six months worth of license revocation, wherein other prosecution will state this time as the maximum suspension limit.
There is a zero tolerance policy for driving under the influence in Nebraska, and the arresting officer will immediately seize your license upon arrest for a DWI charge. The Arresting officer may provide you with a 30 day temporary license upon which you must mail a hearing request to contest your suspension within the first 10 days of your charges or warrant an automatic license suspension.
Nebraska DUI Penalties
All convicted DUI arrests are charged with a fine of no more than $400 plus an additional amount for license reinstatement fees, court appointed fees and property damage imbursement in case the DUI resulted in a vehicular accident. A convicted defendant will also be responsible for paying for his alcohol assessment during his sentencing and arrest proceedings and if court ordered will have to undergo an alcohol rehabilitation program, also to his costs. An alcohol rehab can cost as much as $3000 and is a mandate upon order by a Judge.
When your license gets revoked administratively, the court may decide to appoint an employment driving permit, depending on the arrest circumstance and your plea. There is a certain percentile for BAC levels which will mandate the court to order an Ignition Interlock installation for the vehicle, which will be shouldered by the defendant. At any point from the time of questioning to sentencing, any kind of refusal to undergo a chemical test will merit a license revocation plus criminal charges as determined by the arresting officer.
Underage DUI in Nebraska
For Minors, the BAC limit for a DUI arrest in the state of Nebraska is anywhere from .02 to .079 with no criminal penalties but an automatic driving privilege suspension as determined by a Judge. Be found to have .02 to .08 and a suspension of 30 days is automatic with a one year suspension for minors found to have a BAC of higher than .08.
Get Nebraska DUI Help: Repeat Offenses for DUI Arrests
There are implications for a DUI charge criminally and administratively in the state of Nebraska. Your driving ability will be taken into issue and depending on the total of DUI charges and convictions may obstruct your chances of obtaining licensing for driving jobs such as operating commercial vehicles. Several DUI convictions leave a score on your legal record. A conviction for DUI has long-standing effects and affects sentencing and fines for potential DUI offenses. Since the State of Nebraska practices a looking window policy, preceding conviction of DUI from your parent or Nebraska neighboring states are taken into concern when measuring the scale and class of DUI charge filed.
Nebraska studies prior conviction and seize reports for DUI, you can anticipate stern penalties and more jail time if you are repeatedly booked for driving under the influence. Conviction state of affairs such as BAC level outcome will put you in adapted sentencing if you were convicted with results in the “extremely intoxicated” classification. You may also be ordered to put in ignition interlock devices to all your vehicles. The court will appoint compulsory drug testing and completion of alcohol treatment course as part of your sentencing which you will have to shoulder.
Recurring offenders are subject to heavier legal and executive penalties and are discretionary to the judgment of the court. These may not be clearly stated because each case is affected by a dissimilar events and extent of DUI arrest. As more extenuating circumstances and repeat offenses are cited, the sentencing becomes more unrestricted.
The criminal punishment for repeat DUI offenders who generate community property damage and even worse, accidents that lead to physical harm and casualty will be subject to the maximum form of prosecution and sentence a convicted offender to severe criminal charges – Felony DUI, which have a broader sentencing definition.
Hire an experienced Nebraska DUI Attorney today!
The most important aspect of your defense is hiring a law firm that has a deep understanding of the DUI laws that govern conviction, plea bargaining, appeal and sentencing for Nebraska.. There are reputable law firms with an established practice that will make a significant difference in the outcome of your DUI charge. You can contact DUI lawyers either by phone or online. The first consultation is completely confidential and is normally free of charge.