Delaware DUI Laws
Delaware has a flexible qualifier for DUI counts compared to other states, with a BAC requirement of .10% or greater for a DUI conviction. First time offenders for a DUI charge can face up to six months in jail with no minimum sentencing and a fine of no more than $1150 aside from other court appointed expenses and fees which may result to community property damage and personal damages if the DUI resulted in injury. Delaware has cost estimation for DUI charges with a range of up to $3000 aside from court appointed conviction damages and defendant financed enrollment in court mandated alcohol treatment programs as part of sentencing parameters.
What Happens To First Time DUI Offenders in Delaware?
All convicted first time offenders for a DUI charge will undergo a license revocation in the state of up to 12 months with conditional licensing available after the first 90 days of minimum suspension period has been served by the convicted offender. Depending on the discretion of the court, a judge may also appoint the installation of an ignition interlock device upon the convicted offender’s request for a conditional license, depending on arrest and conviction circumstances.
As part of a first offense conviction, a DUI offender is required to take and complete a 16 hour administrative course for alcohol rehabilitation and improved driving that will cost $125, and shouldered by the defendant. For offenders found with a .20% BAC and higher, a 25 hour treatment program at an outpatient alcohol treatment facility will be court ordered, as well as completing a mental health treatment program or a 21 under program for minors caught in this offense range.
The state of Delaware practices a lifetime offense check for all DUI charges, which will merit previous DUI convictions from parent state and neighboring regions as a first, second or tertiary count for a DUI charge. These will affect sentencing and suspension terms depending on circumstance and plea. Denial of a previous DUI charge will merit increased administrative repercussions and will make you ineligible to apply for a conditional license on the count of hiding previous DUI arrests or convictions.
Under 21 DUI in Delaware
The state of Delaware does not practice administrative tolerance for minors who are convicted of a DUI charge. For offenders 21 years and below who are found to have a blood alcohol level of .02% or more, a recommendation for two months license suspension, with a fine of no more than $230 and possible jail time of up to one year in prison upon conviction is the standard sentencing term.
Get Help: Delaware Repeat Offenses for DUI Arrests
Since the State of Delaware practices a looking window policy, previous arrests and conviction of DUI related charges from your parent or Delaware neighboring states are taken into consideration when measuring the degree and kind of DUI charge filed on your account. In Delaware, the interlude of instance in which a judge can evaluate an offender’s documentation (the “look-back” period) is your entire natural life. If you have had a DUI conviction from decades ago, even in another state this will hinder you from receiving First Offender status, thus exposing you to advanced penalties and criminal sentencing.
Delaware studies previous conviction and arrest records with DUI, this means that you can expect severe penalties and more jail time if you are repeatedly convicted for other DUI convictions. Testing for alcohol results like BAC levels will modify your sentence; if you were convicted with a result in the “extremely intoxicated” classification for example the judge may also be mandated to install ignition interlock devices to all your vehicles. The court may or may not appoint mandatory drug testing and enforced achievement of an alcohol treatment curriculum as part of your sentencing stricture which you will have to shoulder.
Recurring delinquents will be afforded heavier criminal penalties and are discretionary to the judgment of the court. Because each case is affected by a different circumstance and degree of DUI arrest, the exact sentence may vary. As more explanatory conditions and repeat offenses are uncovered, the sentencing becomes elevated.
The criminal punishment for repeat DUI offenders who cause community property damage and even worse accidents which lead to bodily harm and fatality will be subject to the highest form of prosecution claim and will sentence a convicted offender to severe criminal charges – Felony DUI which have a broader sentencing definition.
Hire an experienced Delaware DUI Attorney
The most important aspect of your defense is hiring a law firm that has a deep understanding of the DWI laws that govern conviction, plea bargaining, appeal and sentencing for Delaware. For experienced Delaware DUI lawyers or drunken driving defense attorneys, go for the right Delaware DWI attorney that has a profound understanding of DWI laws in Delaware and gain a reliable drunk driving defense. The first consultation is completely confidential and will be free of charge.