What Happens To First Time DUI Offenders in Alaska?
A DWI conviction in the state of Alaska merits a BAC result of .08% or higher during an arrest and alcohol testing for a person charged with DWI. Alaska keeps straightforward protocol for handling offenders of a DWI nature with afforded fines, incarceration and revocation of driving privileges depending on the severity and count of DWI arrest.
The state of Alaska has a lengthy jail time requirement for first time offenders charged with a DWI. You can expect at least 72 hours of incarceration with not more than one year for your first offense, with an average jail time record for DWI convicts of three days costing $270 worth in fees. There is also a court ordered community service appointment which requires you to complete 24 hours worth of community involvement as appointed by the bureau of corrections.
Aside from incarceration costs, a court fine with a minimum amount of $250 and not exceeding $5000 is accrued. A court ordered revocation of license for no less than 90 days is part of a first offense sentence, with an expected license reinstatement fee of $200. Being charged with a DWI in Alaska is very expensive, whereas the last estimate of the overall costs in attorney’s fees, court and jail costs average out to about $22,000 for each conviction.
Alaska also encourages the DMV to instate additional administrative license revocation for convicted DWI defendants. This means that a court ordered revocation is concurrent, or consecutive to a DMV mandated recusal of an offender’s license. Once a suspect fails the chemical analysis with a result of .08% BAC or higher, law enforcers will confiscate the driver’s license and serve an offender with a Notice of Order Revocation. This will inform an offender of the DMV’s revocation of his/her license eight days after an arrest has been made.
A Judge may order the provision of a limited occupational license upon discretion, after a 30 day grace period for license revocation upon conviction of a DWI charge. This only applies to defendants to willingly participate in education and treatment programs and must complete the curriculum.
An alcohol assessment is done for all offenders, which will recommend the amount of alcohol education treatment program to be attended. First time offenders normally attend a minimum of 8 to 15 hours of alcohol education lectures and must pay the fees of $20 to $150. An alcohol assessment will determine if an offender will require substance abuse treatment.
The state of Alaska prosecutes offenders who fail to complete the required alcohol treatment program with a revocation of driving license and affixed jail time.
Under 21 DUI in Alaska
The state of Alaska practices a Zero Tolerance policy for all DWI offenders under the age of 21, where a minor is tried as an adult, qualifying him for all sentencing terms on a DWI charge with increasing charges depending on arrest circumstance and chemical test results during the arrest period.
Get DUI Help: Repeat Offenses for DUI Arrests
There are heavy implications for a DWI charge criminally and administratively in the state of Alaska. Your driving competency will be put into question and a DWI charge will be taken into consideration if you decide to get licensing to drive commercial vehicles as well as make an indelible mark on your criminal record.
A conviction for DWI has long term effects with employment and personal records and will determine sentencing and fines for future DWI offenses. Since the State of Alaska encourages administrative sanction and prosecution of DUI convicted offenders aside from pursuing criminal and state charges, repeat DUI convictions can result to the permanent revocation of your driving license as issued by the DMV.
Alaska considers previous conviction and arrest records pertaining to same criminal charges, which means that you can expect harsher penalties and increased jail time if you are convicted of a DWI charge the second time and as you gain more convictions or are found to have similar offenses in your parent state or neighboring states. The arrest qualifications of previous convictions are also taken into consideration, such as your BAC level results and will put you in higher accountability if you were convicted with chemical testing results in the “extremely intoxicated” classification, which is .15 to .20 BAC. At this point the court will appoint mandatory drug testing and enrollment in a drug, alcohol treatment facility as part of your sentencing parameters which you will have to shoulder.
Repeat offenders, depending on severity and circumstance of arrest charges will be subject to heavier criminal and administrative penalties which are discretionary to the prosecuting Judge and may not be clearly stated as it varies. The form of sentencing is more unrestricted as more mitigating circumstances and repeat offenses are presented, where prosecution will try and lobby for the maximum prison sentencing parameter as well as extensive community and court appointed fines and fees.
The criminal punishment for repeat DWI offenders who cause community property damage and even worse accidents which lead to bodily harm and fatality will be subject to the highest form of prosecution claim and may incur more severe criminal charges such as Felony DWI which have a broader sentencing definition.
Hire an experienced Alaska DUI Attorney Today
The most important aspect of your defense is hiring a law firm that has a deep understanding of the DWI laws that govern conviction, plea bargaining, appeal and sentencing for Alaska. For experienced Alaska DUI lawyers or drunken driving defense attorneys, you can easily find the right Alaska DWI attorney that has a profound understanding of DWI laws in Alaska and gain a reliable drunk driving defense. The first consultation is completely confidential and is normally free of charge.